Mitchell Pearce – Opinion Piece

OK, so now that a couple of days have passed and I’ve had my giggle about Mitchell Pearce, I’m going to state what my rational thoughts are in regards to his actions.

First and foremost: Yes. I know it’s a private party. Yes, the person filming him IS a scum-bag for doing so, and then selling it to the highest bidder for that amount of money. To that guy with the phone, you’re a dick and Karma is going to bite you in the ass.

BUT, with that being said, that doesn’t excuse Mitchell’s actions, nor does it allow him any sort of protection from scrutiny. I have to admit that when I first heard the story, I was dumbfounded. Especially considering that I hadn’t seen the video yet and the media was hyping it up. Then I saw the video.

Look, the act of what he did with the dog wasn’t as bad as it was made out to be. Was it wrong and disgusting? Of course it was. But that’s not enough to get the bloke fired, in my opinion. Nor is urinating on himself of the couch, because let’s face it… Most of us have been in a situation like that where we’ve gotten drunk and made an idiot of ourselves. I know I certainly have.

What honestly makes Mitchell a disgrace, in my eyes, is the way he was forcing himself onto the woman in the video, refusing to leave when being told multiple times to leave, as well as the comments about Indigenous people and gay people.

Before you all jump out with pitchforks, calm down and let me explain.

Mitchell is a footy player. He is paid a LOT of money to be a footy player. With that, comes certain responsibilities that must be upheld. And that’s not up to the NRL, the Roosters, or even your own team-mates. That is YOUR responsibility to make sure that you control yourself. Private Party or not, we live in the age where technology is everywhere and everyone has a mobile phone. If you’re in a party with a group of people that you don’t know, the logical thing to do would be to behave yourself so that nothing can be used against you.

Also, briefly touching on the other players who were with him in that party, they should have stepped in to make sure that Mitchell didn’t do anything stupid as well. These are guys who play together as a team and need to have that bond where they go out and protect each other from doing stupid things.

Mark Geyer said it perfectly when he gave his assessment on the matter;

12644720_1673299639625058_6267584732146423650_n

And therein comes the next part, which is that I believe Mitchell Pearce needs to be removed from the game for his own personal safety and rehabilitated. This is a man who’s had multiple problems in the past, one of the more recent ones being the incident with the Woman in the Yellow Dress a couple of years ago. If this were a player that wasn’t as well-known as Mitchell, he’d of gotten the sack by now. Hell, Dane Nielson got the sack from us for biting on a woman’s leg. And before everyone starts to grind my gears about it, I know there are worse people playing in the NRL at the moment. The NRL isn’t consistent with it’s punishments and that’s something that I think needs to change.

And I think it should start here. The NRL have said in the past that they’re going to be cracking down on player behaviour. This is the perfect time to showcase that. I don’t want Mitchell Pearce sacked because he doesn’t play for the Dragons & I don’t want him to get sacked out of malice.

I want him sacked because he NEEDS to get out of the NRL and needs to get some help. And quite frankly, this is something that should’ve happened ages ago. Because Mitchell is incapable of controlling himself when it comes to Alcohol. And at the end of the day, he’s doing himself harm more than anyone else.

Leave a Reply

